Annual Report

Explore our most recent high-impact programs and projects.

Decorative image

Video Overview

Watch a 4-minute video overview of the Big Ten Academic Alliance.

Decorative image


See a sampling of the latest Big Ten Academic Alliance news.


Headquartered in the Midwest, the Big Ten Academic Alliance is the nation’s preeminent model for effective collaboration among research universities. For more than half a century, these world-class institutions have advanced their academic missions, generated unique opportunities for students and faculty, and served the common good by sharing expertise, leveraging campus resources, and collaborating on innovative programs. Governed and funded by the Provosts of the member universities, Big Ten Academic Alliance mandates are coordinated by a staff from its Champaign, Illinois headquarters. 

Big Ten Academic Alliance Member Universities:

  • University of Illinois
  • Indiana University
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Michigan
  • Michigan State University
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Northwestern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rutgers University-New Brunswick
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison


The Big Ten Academic Alliance compiles data from its member institutions including demographics, expenditures, faculty information, and rankings.