TBI - Collaborative Research

Ivy League-Big Ten Epidemiology of Concussion Study in Students Athletes


The Ivy League-Big Ten Epidemiology of Concussion Study in Students Athletes is a multisite research collaboration of the Big Ten–Ivy League Traumatic Brain Injury Research Collaboration (TBI Collaboration) with the following vision and goals:

Vision:

  • To improve the understanding of the epidemiology of sports-related concussion (SRC)

Study Goals:

  • To obtain epidemiologic data regarding the incidence, mechanism of injury, and return to academic and sport participation timeline of concussion for all varsity and some club sports endorsed by the Ivy League and Big Ten schools
  • To efficiently utilize the Study data to identify opportunities to improve the health and safety of current and future student-athletes
  • To provide a Study infrastructure supporting a collaborative and participatory research community

Participant Sites

TBI Map - Epidemiology Participant Sites

BTC_Primary_2_Color_Logo (002)

Ivy league logo 

2019 TBI Pre-Summit Epidemiology Study Team Members

2019 TBI Pre-Summit Epidemiology Study Team Members

TBI - Epidemiology Site Participants

  • Brown University

    Brown University brown

    Bryn VanPatten, PI/AT
    Associate Head Athletic Trainer
    bryn_vanpatten@brown.edu

    JJ TreyCriscojoseph_crisco@brown.eduTP
    BethConroybeth_conroy@brown.edu
    AT


  • Columbia University

    Columbia University columbia

    Natasha Desai, PI/TP
    nd2498@cumc.columbia.edu 

    JimGossettjdg2@columbia.eduAT
    AlexanderGoldbergag3311@columbia.eduRA


  • Cornell University

    Cornell University cornell

    David Wentzel
    David Wentzel, PI/TP
    Clinical Director of Sports Medicine
    dcw9@cornell.edu

    Bernie DePalma bfd5@cornell.edu AT
    Katy Harris kg237@cornell.edu AT


  • Dartmouth College

    Dartmouth College dartmouth

    Kristine Karlson
    Kristine Karlson, PI/TP
    Team Physician
    kristine.a.karlson@hitchcock.org

    ScottRoyScott.J.Roy@dartmouth.edu
    AT


  • Harvard University

    Harvard University columbia

    Francis Wang
    Francis Wang, PI/TP
    Head Team Physician
    fwang@uhs.harvard.edu

    BridgetHuntBridget.hunt@shu.eduAT
    BrantBerkstresserbberkstr@fas.harvard.eduAT
    LarsRichardsonlrichardson@partners.orgPI


  • University of Illinois

    University of Illinois columbia


    Randy Ballard, PI
    Associate Athletics Director - Sports Medicine
    ballard@illinois.edu

    AaronAndersonaandrsn3@illinois.edu
    RandyBallardballardr@illinois.eduAT
    PaulSchmidtschmidtp@illinois.eduAT
    JerradZimmermanjerradzi@illinois.eduTP


  • Indiana University

    Indiana University dartmouth

    Nicholas Port
    Nicholas Port, PI
    Associate Professor
    nport@indiana.edu

    Acacia Holmes aaholmes@indiana.edu AT
    Jacob Thayer jwthayer@iu.edu AT


  • University of Iowa

    University of Iowa dartmouth

    Andy Peterson
    Andy Peterson, PI/TP
    Team Physician
    andrew-r-peterson@uiowa.edu

    Kathryn Staiert kathryn-staiert@uiowa.edu AT
    Donna Friel donna-friel@uiowa.edu ADM


  • University of Maryland

    University of Maryland cornell

    Dave Klossner
    Dave Klossner, PI/ADM
    Associate Athletic Director/Sport Performance
    klossner@umd.edu

    ChrisLacsamanaclatc@umd.eduAT


  • Michigan State University

    Michigan State University cornell

    Matthew Saffarian
    Matthew Saffarian, PI
    Team Physician
    mathew.saffarian@hc.msu.edu

    ChandlerCastlecastlec3@ath.msu.edu
    AT
    TamaraHibblerhollis22@ath.msu.eduAT


  • University of Minnesota

    University of Minnesota 

    Erin Moore, PI/AT
    Athletic Trainer
    moor1018@umn.edu

    Joi Thomas thomasjj@umn.edu Admin
    Suzanne Hecht Suzanne.hecht@gmail.com TP


  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln

    University of Nebraska-Lincoln cornell

    Cary Savage, PI
    Director of Clinical Research, CB3
    csavage@unl.edu

    ArtMaerlender
    amaerlender2@unl.eduAdmin
    JessicaCalvijcalvi@huskers.comAdmin
    ElliotCarlsonelliot.carlson@unl.eduRA
    MaitalNetamaitalneta@unl.eduAdmin

  • Northwestern University

    Northwestern University 

     

    Brian Vesci, PI/AT
    Senior Associate Athletic Trainer and Concussion Specialist
    vesci@northwestern.edu

    Jeff Mjannes jeffrey.mjaanes@northwestern.edu TP
    Tory Lindley tory@northwestern.edu Admin
    Danielle Colegrove d-leightey@northwestern.edu AT 


  • University of Pennsylvania

    University of Pennsylvania columbia

    Brian Sennett
    Brian Sennett, PI/TP
    Chair of Sports Medicine
    brian.sennett@uphs.upenn.edu

    EmilyDormanemarkis@upenn.eduAT
    BethHowardbeth.howard@uphs.upenn.eduRA


  • Penn State University

    Penn State University 

     

    Michael Gay, PI/AT
    Assistant Athletic Trainer
    mrg201@psu.edu

    PeteSeidenbergpseidenberg@pennstatehealth.psu.eduTP


  • Princeton University

    Princeton University cornell

    Margot Putukian
    Margot Putukian, PI/TP
    Director of Athletic Medicine
    putukian@exchange.princeton.edu

    NeetaBauernkbauer@princeton.eduRA


  • Purdue University

    Purdue University 

    Carly Day, PI/TP
    Head Team Physician
    Dr.Day@purdue.edu

    Doug Boersma boersma@purdue.edu Admin


  • Rutgers University

    Rutgers University columbia

    Carrie Esopenko
    Carrie Esopenko, PI
    Assistant Professor
    ce216@shp.rutgers.edu

    Kyle Brostrand kbrostrand@scarletknights.com AT
    Chris D'Andrea cdandrea@scarletknights.com AT
    Yvette Rooks yrooksmd@yahoo.com TP


  • University of Wisconsin-Madison

    University of Wisconsin-Madison 

    Erin McQuillan, PI/AT
    Athletic Trainer
    EM4@athletics.wisc.edu

    MichaelMollmkm@athletics.wisc.eduAdmin

  • Yale University

    Yale University columbia

    Stephanie Arlis-Mayor, PI/TP
    Team Physician
    Stephanie.arlis-mayor@yale.edu

    WendyBrunnettowendy.brunetto@yale.eduADM
    KristinMoriartykristin.emerick@yale.eduAT